High School Reunion

“So I’m nervous,” I say, sliding into the hot tub next to Boyfriend. We are on a ski vacation out West with his family, but we’ve taken the afternoon off due to a bruised shin (mine) and a desire to while away the afternoon drinking and boiling in the Jacuzzi (his and mine).

“Why?”

I hesitate, knowing how silly he’ll find my latest preoccupation, then barrel on in my typical fashion of ignoring good common sense: “About my 5-year high school reunion in May.”

He rolls his eyes. “Why?” he repeats.

I busy myself finding a decent spot to set my vodka tonic, my skin rising in goosebumps as the cold air around me mingles with the hot steam coming off the water. “Because,” I sigh, already regretting my decision to introduce this topic, “I want it to be perfect.”

He looks at me quizzically.

“I mean, I just want everything to be as I remember it. And I want to prove to everyone that I did it, you know? That I made it. Also, I want to look really hot.”

“You are really hot.” Boyfriend takes a sip of his drink and sets it down, shaking his head. “You’re also ridiculous.” I lean over and kiss him on the lips.

“I know,” I say, and I mean it.

May 10, 2008. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

